• Share This Blog!

    Bookmark and Share
  • Tweet Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

This is Just To Say

Though I spent over a day’s worth of salary on new crafting supplies and even found inspiration for cheap crafts, (NewDressADay and BookHourCrafts) all has been quiet in my crafting room lately. 

My mind has been on the still completely-intact lino blocks so much that my dreams have circled around potential subjects,  but I cannot bring myself to make that first exciting dig with the carver. 

This happens to me whenever I buy a new journal.  I think to myself:  I love this journal.  This is a special journal.  Should I reserve it for only certain things?  Like inspirational quotes?  Favorite recipes? I always wind up “defiling” my “special” journals with stuff like to-do or grocery lists. 

I’m not sure if your mind works as tangently as mine does, but writing grocery lists in a journal made me think of the time in class where the prof asked if we thought William Carlos Williams’ poem, “This is Just to Say” (thanks Lily for helping me to remember the title) was really a poem, or just a regular ol’ note. What do you think?

This is Just To Say
I have eaten
…the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast.

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold.

Also, speaking of grocery lists, I am tired of eating the same old stuff every week.  I peer into the freezer and see all the tinfoil shimmering like Christmas – but Santa Claus is bringing the same damn gifts once per week – chicken breasts, cubed steak, ground beef, and ribs. (Which, continuing with the Christmas theme, are like the heinous sweater Grandma makes you and you don’t want to wear but your mother makes you.  We had tons and tons of ribs in our freezer; we didn’t want to waste them but didn’t want to eat them either.) 

So, while bumming around this blog about cheap, healthy eating, I came across a weekly menu planner that inspired me to go ahead and plan out our menu this week and maybe this would cut down on my grocery costs.  I don’t think I’m the only one that somehow gets carried away in the grocery store, but I have an acute problem – I’d rather grocery shop than clothing shop.  (There just may be some cause and effect in that relationship, too…)

Anyhoo – I’m very excited about this week’s menu, especially since last night’s dinner was a recipe I dreamed up and turned out delicious.  So just in case you’re in need of a little dinner inspiration, too, I will share.  If this bores you, simply look to the next blog. 

Monday – Asiago cheese and spinach chicken sausage (My MIL buys this for us at Sam’s) stir fried with cabbage, spring onions and yellow onions served over couscous.  I was going to add bacon to this mixture but I forgot.  Though Adam was extremely disappointed, it was still delicious. 

Tuesday – Breakfast casserole –  Adam begs for breakfast for dinner all the time, but I don’t really care for breakfast even during breakfast time.  I do love breakfast casserole, though, so this is a great compromise.

Wednesday – Macaroni Grill’s chicken piccata – This is one of those “just add meat” meals-in-a-box.  And it’s delicious and simple.  It only takes 30 minutes to cook and you just throw a salad together while the chicken browns and you’ve spent $10 (if you buy your chicken when it’s on sale.  Cut your own breasts into strips – it’s cheaper than buying pre-cut “tenders” and the result is the same).  Though we’re tired of the same-ol’ same ol’, this is definitely a keeper.

Thursday – burgers.  I normally don’t like hamburgers, but I’ve been craving a home-made one lately.  Plus, something tells me that a hamburger cooked on the Big Green Egg just may change my mind about hamburgers…meat is so juicy instead of dried out cooked on this thing!

Friday – Ingles has a special on salmon this week, and our friend Ellen gave us a cedar plank long ago that we haven’t used yet.  We’re going to do cedar-planked salmon with wild rice and probably a fresh veggie from our CSA which should be arriving on this day.  We’ll be getting our chevre add-on in our CSA, too, which means I’ll probably whip up a little fresh bruschetta-type hor d’oeuvre with fresh basil from the garden and tomato from the CSA box.  YUM.

Saturday – I’ve never made this before, but I want to try my hand at eggplant parmesan.  I got a recipe from the same blog mentioned above, “Cheap Healthy Good.”

Sunday – Homemade pizza!  Well, semi-homemade.  I plan to buy ready-made dough, either the Pillsbury kind or the Digiorno already-baked kind and add fresh veggies to mine and pepperoni, sausage, bacon and hamburger meat to Adam’s. 

I bid you “Good Eats” (Alton Brown) and “Goodday” (Fez).

6 Responses

  1. Your planning is impeccable and the first step to utilizing the Couponizer to its fullest potential. Have some great sites too that will match coupons, menus, and store locations — If I can just find the site again!

    Hesitancy is not uncommon when approaching a “new item”. Somehow I think it is the “perfectionist” in all of us. The item is so perfect, clean, “virgin”. We just don’t want to do anything to “mess it up”. But let go and enjoy!! There’s more where the original came from.

  2. 1.What is a CSA – and can I get one in Atlanta?
    2. I have a really yummy eggplant parm recipe at home – I will have to dig it out of my recipe box for you.
    3. Do you really want to do Sips & Strokes? We should plan a night where Dan and Adam can hang out at our place, and you and I can go!

    • I bet you can get one in Atlanta! You’ll just have to call around to see where they are based and what their pick-up locations are and find one nearest you. Here is a quick list when I typed in Atlanta CSA that came up: http://www.ecovian.com/s/atlanta/csa-food-delivery. You could probably get more narrow results if you type the specific part of Atlanta into the search engine.

      I will talk to Adam about the Sip N Strokes idea! You know he’s attached to the couch once football season begins! But I would definitely love to go!

  3. If you haven’t already bought your dough, go for the pre-baked crust instead of the Pillsbury. Unless you’re going to combine two or three boxes of it, it’s not near enough dough once you mix it up (the Pillsbury). Good luck! 🙂

    • that’s what I wound up doing, just because it seemed easier and cheaper because the pre-made came two to a pack! That way we have his and hers for only $4. 🙂

  4. […] View the original article here Posted in Gas South Bill Pay « Big Plans for Public Transportation in Virginia. It’s called Super NoVa. soooooooooooo » […]

Leave a Reply

